Skip to content

Quote of the Day

April 12, 2010

Jonathan Safran Foer: Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close

This book is incredible. I cried like a baby after I finished it. Foer tells his story through two generations who have become victims of War, minor players on a world stage yet these are the characters Foer chooses to weave his extraordinary and unusual story around.

Thomas Schell Snr, his wife the Grandmother tell their stories through letters to their son and their grandson and Oskar Schell, a completely enchanting little boy is on a mission which takes him through the whole of New York. These are people whose lives are blighted, torn apart by bombs falling from the sky. Or planes going through sky scrapers and the journey they all embark upon in order to heal. Below is an extract from the book told through one of the Grandmother’s letters to her grandson, Oskar.

I had never told her how much I loved her.

She was my sister.

We slept in the same bed.

There was never a right time to say it.

[…]

I thought about waking her.

But it was unnecessary.

There would be other nights.

And how can you say I love you to someone you love?

I rolled onto my side and fell asleep next to her.

Here is the point of everything I have been trying to tell you, Oskar.

It’s always necassary.

I love you,

Grandma

Google WikiLeaks

One Comment leave one →
  1. Anne permalink
    April 12, 2010 3:57 pm

    That quote is so simple yet says so much. It’s true that saying ‘I love you’ is most difficult when it’s to someone you love so much that words are trivial,be it family, friends or lovers. This is going to be my next read.

Leave a Reply

